Winston Graham was one of the most successful and prolific novelists of the twentieth century. He wrote in many genres but his best known
body of work was undoubtedly the twelve historical ‘Poldark’ novels set in Cornwall at the end of the 18th and beginning of the 19th centuries.
In 2015 they come to life again.
TV series - 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
A fresh adaptation of the Poldark saga, starring Aidan Turner (The Hobbit Trilogy, Being Human) began on BBC1 TV in March 2015. The eight
part series was adapted by Debbie Horsfield (Cutting It, The Riff Raff Element) and directed by Ed Bazalgette and William McGregor. Series II, 10
episodes of 60 minutes each, began in September 2016. Series III was aired on BBC in June, 2017 and Series 4 is currently filming in Cornwall
with likely coming to air in the Autumn of 2018. Click the Radio Times link to get the latest news. All the TV programmes are produced by
Mammoth Screen. Andrew Graham, Winston’s son, comments: ‘I am thrilled to see the Poldarks returning to the screen. I have worked closely
with Mammoth Screen and their concern to stay faithful to the books has been wonderful. My father would be totally delighted’.
New editions of the Poldark novels
Coinciding with each TV series, Pan Macmillan produces new editions of the Poldark novels: in 2015 Ross Poldark and Demelza and in 2016
Jeremy Poldark and Warleggan. Series 3 in 2017 saw the re-publication of The Black Moon and The Four Swans. Series 4 is based on The Angry
Poldark’s Cornwall re-issued with new photos
Winston’s semi-autobiographical book of Cornwall with its beautiful photos of the Cornish sea and landscapes was re-issued by Pan Macmillan
with many new photographs in 2015. The book includes an introduction by Andrew Graham who writes: ‘My father, Winston Graham,
effectively wrote two autobiographies. The official one was Memoirs of a Private Man. The other is Poldark’s Cornwall. At least that is how my
sister, Rosamund, and I see it; and, in addition to the photographs, it is this factor that makes this such an interesting book’.
OPERA – Marnie, 2018
After its success at the London Coliseum, the opera, Marnie was performed at the Metropolitan Opera, New York, during 2018. Based on the
original Winston Graham novel that inspired the Hitchcock movie, it was performed by special arrangement with Universal Pictures. Composer
Nico Muhly unveiled his gripping reimagining of Winston Graham’s novel about a beautiful, mysterious young woman who assumed multiple
identities. Director Michael Mayer and his team devised a fast-moving, cinematic world for this exhilarating story of denial and deceit.
The Strangles © Photo: Simon McBride
 2018 © Official Winston Graham and Poldark website authorised by and copyright of the Winston Graham literary executors. Winston Graham Literary Agents: Contact A.M.Heath & Company Ltd